Shopping during the Holidays

"Lizzy, my dear, I want to speak to you&q...

Image via Wikipedia

So, despite telling myself that yesterday would be devoted to Christmas shopping, it didn’t happen. I woke up, took one look outside at the snow and ice that covered ground and curled back up in bed with Pride & Prejudice (my favourite Jane Austin book, by far).

Today, as a result of my laziness from yesterday, I have started feeling a bit… I guess you could say stressed. Stressed is an ok word for it. Not exactly stressed but close enough that it applies. Why? Because there are only 3 more weekends of shopping available to me before Christmas. And of those three weekends, I’m busy for 2. That does not leave a lot of time. Add to that the fact that this year, unlike the previous years of my shopping existence, I have no clue what I’m getting for everyone. I think that they (and I) will have to settle for the not-quite-perfect gift…

That will be very very difficult for me.

I am a horrible shopper. Everything I buy has to be perfect for the recipient. And I mean that. I will spend hours looking at merchandise in the store and not buy a single thing because it isn’t exactly what I’m looking for. It’ll be close, but not PERFECT. and it HAS to be perfect. Usually, I have an idea, a concept or vision of what the gift will be, which is what makes it easier (or perhaps harder?) to gift shop.

This year, in my uncertainty of what to get, I haven’t shopped. And really, I think that’s the biggest reason why I didn’t go shopping yesterday – I didn’t know what I wanted to buy. It doesn’t make sense to me to go looking through stores for nothing in particular and hoping something will catch my eye.

Is that how other people shop at this time of the year? Am I alone in this method of shopping? Anyone care to share their shopping methods?

Leave a Reply

