Sweet & Sour Balls – The Final Part

After two weeks of procrastination, I’m finally here to tell you…. the rest of the story.

It’s nothing interesting really, partly because it was an uneventful cooking moment (I’d done this recipe twice before… easy peasy pumpkin squeezy) but also because I forget all the useful little amusing things that did happen, due to my pen and paper being absent.

Anyway, onward we go.

Sweet & Sour Sauce

This is a recipe that I got from my mother, who got it from her mother (I think) and I don’t know where it came from prior to that. It’s a delicious sauce that goes on meatballs, tofu balls, pork, chicken, and probably works as a good hot dip for pretty much anything food related.

Here's a cute image that made me chuckle.

Taste – it’s sweet… though I actually accidentally added too much Tabasco, so mine was a touch on the burning the tongue and making the eyes water side.

Preparation Score – two easys, a peasy and a pumpkin to squeeze(y)

Outcome –  My less spice-sensitive friends loved it (to be honest… that’s pretty much everyone. I have a low tolerance for spicy food).

The Recipe

Over Christmas (was that really almost four months ago?) I’d purchased an App called “My Recipe Book” and it’s the best thing I’ve done. Ok, that’s an exaggeration, I’ve done a lot of great things in the past few months. Can’t think of any at the moment, but to clarify – it’s the best recipe app I’ve tried (out of maybe two) for keeping my personal recipes safe and sound (unless my iPad is broken, lost or stolen… then I’m screwed).

Anyway, here’s the recipe!

Ingredients

1/2 tsp Chili Powder
1/2 tsp Salt
1 Dash Pepper
1 1/2 tsp Celery seed
2 Tbsp Brown Sugar
3 Drops Tabasco sauce
2 Tbsp Worchestershire sauce
1/2 Cup Ketchup
1/2 Cup Water
2 Tbsp Vinegar

Directions

Mix all ingredients in a pan and bring to a boil.

Options

1) Pork chops Brown chops Pour sauce over chops in a baking dish Bake at 350 for 1 hour
2) Meatballs (see meatball recipe… ie. make meat balls, freeze meat balls, bake at 350 for an hour)

The Memories

I have to give a shout out to my friend M. Without her sitting at the table, reading the recipe out to me, I’d probably have a ton of funny mishaps to share with you. Thanks M! I managed to make TWO batches of sauce with maybe one, singular mistake…. I’d forgotten that I was making the second batch and nearly burned it to the pan.

Ah well, such is life. I’m just happy that everything turned out well! No one starved and most importantly, no one got food poisoning (hurrah!!!). So on that happy note, I close off this series of cooking adventures with a picture of all the food I had served. And the promise that my next post will occur within the next few days.

(you can’t always believe everything you read on the internet though….)

Left to right - pickled onion & black eyed pea pate on toasted pita bread, red pepper dip with cheese, hummus with ... some sort of garnish... bucket of toasted pita bread.

Left to right - Sweet & Sour tofu balls; veggie platter (for dipping into stuff); red pepper dip sans cheese, red pepper dip with cheese; seven layer dip; and at the back corner, vegan peanut butter cup cakes my friend D made. They were delicious!

Leave a Reply

