Ants in my Pantscakes

I work up this morning with an insane craving for pancakes…. It was the weirdest thing. My first thought was “oh no, I threw out that pancake mix I’d bought years ago and was keeping around for just this reason!” My second thought was “I can so totally find a recipe and make pancakes from scratch.”

Annnd, that’s what I did – only I modified it slightly because W. wanted chocolate chips… and we don’t have any chocolate chips, so I improvised and created a “new” recipe!

Ants in my Pantscakes

Original recipe was found on Allrecipes.com and was called “Old Fashioned Pancakes

Pancakes

Brunch is served (also, my apologies for the blurry photo)

Overall Rating

Taste: 5 ants in my pantscakes (out of five)
Prep: One dropped pancake out of 10 (so, super easy)

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted (I used margarine because we don’t own butter)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • cooking spray
  • Chocoladehagel

What’s Chocoladehagel you ask? Well, it’s basically Dutch chocolate sprinkles:

Chocolade Hagel

These are Milk-chocolate sprinkles from the Netherlands. They’re delicious

Directions

Sift together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a large bowl.

This I did… but, funny story… we don’t have real sugar. In August, we went camping and decided that sugar packets would be easier to take with us than a big bag of sugar. So now we have a bajillion sugar packets instead of loose sugar. Luckily I’m an amazing guesser – 3 packets of sugar equals one tablespoon.

Whisk in melted butter, egg and milk until combined.

This is pretty self-explanatory and hard to screw up. Believe me, I tried. Well, I didn’t really TRY so much as worry that I would. Substituting margarine for butter didn’t seem to have any negative effects. Hurrah!

Add the Chocoladehagel

Open the spout on the box and just pour until you feel there’s enough chocolatey goodness in the mix… it’ll look like ants. It’ll be awesome:

chocoladehagel in pancakes

That’s what it looks like when you have chocoladehagel in your pancake mix. Also, sorry again for the blurry photos.

Let batter rest for 5 minutes.

Wash some of your dishes while you wait. That’s what I did.

Preheat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Spray with cooking spray.

If you have a non-stick frying pan, you don’t really need to spray the cooking spray. I did, just in case. But you probably don’t.

Pour batter into the hot skillet, about 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes, until bubbles appear on the sides and center of each pancake. Flip and cook until golden, about 1 to 2 minutes.

So, I tried the 1/4 cup of batter thing and let me tell you – those are tiny pancakes! By the end, I used 1/2 cup of batter per pancake… best decision ever.

Tragedy struck after my first pancake though. It sort of fell back in the batter – I think it wanted to go back into the horde.

One last fun fact – I am incapable of cooking pancakes the same amount on both sides. All of my pancakes were almost black on one side and closer to pale on the other. Luckily they were still delicious!

Leave a Reply

